Updating the Old – 10/5/14 Update on the Health Care Informatics Website

Still not a lot of new information regarding the Health Care Informatics website this week, so I thought I’d go over the other things I’ve been working on in the meantime!

Dr. Lois Howland and Dr. Susan Instone have kept me busy updating and maintaining the Stress-Free Zone website. Some of the things they’ve had me do over the past week include, but are not limited to, adding and updating new audio modules into the stress management tools page, updating new books and articles, adding new entries to the link directory, and fixing up some things on the faculty research page. Nothing groundbreaking, but certainly making sure that the Stress-Free Zone is as up-to-date as possible, as quick as possible.

I also have been providing a bit of support for Professor Joey Gabaldon who I built a site and tutoring system for a few semesters ago. I updated tutor information and have been handling tutoring system support when the need arises. I have also been responsible for updating their Econ Council website with a list of all their upcoming events, along with removing and cleaning some unnecessary, non-functional leftovers from the development of the site.

In addition to all of that, I’ve been reaching out to Dr. Jon Mack for information regarding the Health Care Informatics website. I’ve sent him details on how to secure hosting and a domain name for the new site. Hopefully he’ll get back to me soon and I’ll be able to start putting that together. While I wait for his response, I’ve been rereading the description of the site that he sent me and have determined two choices for Content Management System that would be sufficient for what they’re looking for. Of course, those two are my regular personal go-to’s, so nothing new, but they’re (A) Joomla and (B) WordPress. Both have their ups and downs, but will undoubtedly work for what Dr. Mack is looking for. I personal am a bigger fan of Joomla for the greater control that it gives you, but WordPress could be better in this situation due to its ease of use and the fact that I’ll be training Dr. Instone in updating WordPress for the Stress-Free Zone site.

Anyway, hopefully I’ll have more to report on the Health Care Informatics website soon! Cya next week.

2 thoughts on “Updating the Old – 10/5/14 Update on the Health Care Informatics Website

  1. Wow, you’ve been busy! Can you post the link to the Stress-Free zone site again?

    Also, would love to hear sometime about Joomla. I’m a big fan of WP but haven’t used Joomla much–it would be great to hear about its advantages.

    • Yep, the Stress-Free Zone website is over here: https://sites.sandiego.edu/stress-free/

      Joomla’s big advantage is similar to WordPress’ in how extensive of a community it has building additional extensions for it. A quick look at their Extension’s Directory (http://extensions.joomla.org/) shows nearly 10,000 community made extensions ranging nearly every feature you might ever need. Joomla is not built to be a blog, either, so it can work more easily for other purposes (e.g. commerce site). That said, its big downside is that it is a lot harder to work with than WordPress. It’s not too difficult, but when being able to hand it off to a faculty member with less than stellar technical training is required, Joomla can be a little overwhelmingly complicated.

Leave a Reply

