How Many STAs Does It Take To…

urlOne of my duties here in the office is to test out products and services that the iTeam has been introduced to or is developing. One of the recent projects I had was to test out the new iClickers, a seemingly easy task.

The iClicker is a tool used in classrooms that allows students to participate in a variety of tasks that involves polling, multiple choice questions, etc. They are giving hand held remotes and they can choose answers from there. I was first introduced to the iClicker system back in high school, so one would think that it would be a cake walk for me to test out the company’s new version.

What I found was that things are never as easy as they seem. All I wanted to do is to make sure the remotes work with the main console, but after scouring the web for a solution, all I had to do is wait for our rep to show us.

The next day, she showed me right away what was going on, and it was as simple as holding down a button. -__-

What this experience taught me is that simplicity is key. When I was trying to find a solution to my problem, I kept referring to the manual, getting frustrated that I wasn’t able to answer my question through my research. When dealing with new technologies, especially ones that involved classroom participation, I have found that the simpler the instructions the better. All it takes is a few graphics, and even fewer words & the job is done.

Moving forward, it is important that when working with professors, students, or any staff, instructions and applications (in my opinion) should be kept as simple as possible. Many times we answer the same question over and over again due to directions length or lack of clarity, or could have solved issues easily if there was a simple explanation to do so. It is my goal to streamline steps in order to expedite any and all processes.

Leave a Reply

